Contact Us

Best of 2012 January – Tri Cities, Walla Walla Leaving Big 9 High School Conference

A new High School League for Tri Cities
(newstalk 870-washington sports

It’s official. On Jan. 27, superintendents from Richland, Pasco, Kennewick and Walla Walla announced the formation of a new high school athletic league. They will be leaving the Big 9.

As followed by Newstalk 870, much discussion occurred over re-aligning the Big 9 to ease transportation and other costs. A few weeks ago, the Big 9 voted 8-7 to split into North and South Divisions. However, opposition from Yakima, Wenatchee and Moses Lake led to the belief they would form their own league. On Friday,  the Tri-City and Walla Walla schools announced they will be leaving the Big 9 and forming their own, as yet unnamed, league. Moses Lake, Wenatchee, Eastmont, Davis, Eisenhower and Sunnyside as well as West Valley will remain as the Big 9.

This new arraingement will become effective June 30, 2012 and will include Kamiakin, Kennewick, Southridge, Pasco, Chiawana, Richland, Hanford and Walla Walla high schools.  So far, this new league will be a mix of 3A and 4A schools, with one school from each classification earning a potential state berth in playoffs.

(A followup to this story-the new league became the Mid Columbia Conference, and for the 2012-13 school year, the 7 Tri-City schools and Walla Walla were participating).

Best of Newstalk 870

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Newsmembers quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Newsmembers contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.