The Benton County Republican Party has given its official endorsement to the current 8th District House Rep. Brad Kilppert. He and Matt Boehnke are the two 8th District State Reps in the legislature.

Thursday, February 3rd, the Benton County Republican Party voted on whom to give their official endorsement to for the upcoming 4th Congressional District race.


Rep Newhouse (C-SPAN GOP)
Rep Newhouse (C-SPAN GOP)

Dan Newhouse has held the seat for 7 years, as of this January. He took over for the retiring Doc Hastings, after winning the primary vs. challenger Clint Didier in 2014. He narrowly won, then defeated Didier again in 2016.

The former Director of the Washington State Department of Agriculture received a firestorm of criticism following his decision to support the impeachment proceedings of former President Trump in January 2021. His move brought out a slew of challengers, including Klippert.

870 AM KFLD logo
Get our free mobile app

According to the Benton County GOP, Klippert was chosen from the following six candidates:

"There were 6 candidates that vied for the BCRP Endorsement:  Brad Klippert, Jerrod Sessler, Loren Culp, Dan Newhouse, Benancio Garcia, and Corey Gibson."

A preliminary search of other GOP groups in Franklin and Yakima County do not yet show any official endorsements of a candidate for the 4th District but that's likely because the BCRP was the first to announce any such endorsement.

 Klippert earned 58.1 percent of the vote between the six candidates. 


KEEP READING: Scroll to see what the big headlines were the year you were born



More From 870 AM KFLD