Don't blame the Big 9 high school principals and athletic directors for all the shakeups with the Columbia Basin Big 9 conference.

Due to all the enrollment changes from the WIAA (Washington Interscholastic Athletics Association) as well as economic issues facing schools, the Columbia Basin Big 9 conference has re-shuffled more than a deck of cards in Loughlin lately.   After Thursday's meeting,  the latest North Division-South Division of the Big 9 will look like this (for all sports):

South-   Chiawana, Pasco, Richland, Hanford,  Kamiakin, Kennewick, Southridge and Walla Walla.

North-Eastmont, Wenatchee, Eisenhower, Davis, West Valley,  Davis, Sunnyside and Moses Lake.

  The 4A  3A classifications for the schools will NOT change, but this reshuffling will ease some of the travel issues.  The Kennewick schools, for example, could save tens of thousands of dollars.  It will also make it easier for traditional rivals to play each other, especially in football.  This new North South plan takes effect for the 2012-2013 school year.