Because of the 'pause' that Gov. Inslee put on Phase movement for Washington state counties, seven of them have had their applications returned.

These seven, including Walla Walla County, will have to reapply, according to Health Secretary John Wiesman. From the Washington State Department of Health, Monday July 20:

"On July 14, Governor Inslee and Secretary Wiesman extended the pause that was announced on July 2 for any county to advance to the next phase of the Safe Start plan. This pause is anticipated to last until at least July 28.

The following county applications have been returned: Clark, Cowlitz, Jefferson, Kitsap, Klickitat, San Juan and Walla Walla."

According to state health officials, including Wiesman, by the time July 28 arrives, the seven counties applications will be out of date--likely due to a lot of changing data and information. So, they will have to reapply again to try to move forward.

Not only did Inslee and Wiesman extend the pause period, Inslee also added more restrictions that went into effect today concerning gatherings of people in Phase 1 and 2 counties. No gatherings of 5 or more in Phase 1 or 1.5 and no more than 10 in Phase 2 areas.

By the way, we're not the only ones in "Phase 1.5".  Here's the others, according to the Department of Health.

"Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin and Yakima are in various versions of a modified Phase 1."

More From 870 AM KFLD