Some important local races were narrowed down after Tuesday's primary election.

Here's the results of the primary, with each race and how the candidates faired:

  • Kennewick Public Hospital District Commissioner Position 4
  • Don Campbell, 42% of vote, Victor V. Johnson, 33%, and Rick Fehr 23%
  • Benton City Mayor
  • Lloyd R. Carnahan, 39.01% of vote, Linda Lehman, 38.46%, Steve Zetz, 19.23% and Cecelia Hickel, 3%
  • City of Kennewick, City Council Position 6 at-large:
  • Paul Parish 48% of vote, Diane Crawford, 31%, Ed Pecheco, 19.6%
  • City of West Richland, Council positions 1 and 6 went to Byron Martin, and Scott Whalen.
  • And in the Richland School District races for Director positions 4 and 5, Brendan Amadan and Phyllis Strickler won by margins of 5 and ten percent respectively.

However, voter turnout was not impressive. In Benton County alone, just over 12,000 out of over 91,732 registered voters returned their ballots.

More From 870 AM KFLD